Compare
Menu bar managers, compared
Ways to hide menu bar icons on a Mac, side by side: macOS 27’s own settings, six menu bar managers and Drop Down. They differ most in where a hidden icon goes: off the menu bar, back into it when you ask, into a second bar, or into a panel like Drop Down’s.
Every other app’s column comes from its maker’s own pages, as each described it on ; the sources are at the end. A dash means no. “Not stated”, in italics, means the maker’s pages do not say, which is not the same as no. Pro marks what needs Drop Down Pro; the rest of Drop Down’s column is Basic, which is free.
Where hidden icons go and how you reach them
What happens to an icon once it is hidden, and how you get to it again. On macOS 27 the system hides menu bar icons app by app, and several makers below say so on their pages.
The table scrolls inside its frame, sideways and down; the app names and the features stay in view.
| Feature | Drop Down Free, with Pro | macOS 27 Built in | Bartender 7 Paid | Tuck Free, with Pro | Vanilla Free, with Pro | Thaw Free, open source | Ice Free, open source | Hidden Bar Free, open source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| How you choose what hides | App by app, in the setup or Settings, or with the panel’s + button | App by app in System Settings › Menu Bar; ⌘-drag an icon off the bar | Hide and group items; a Focus Mode hotkey hides them all | ⌘-drag icons left of Tuck, or set each one to stay shown, stay hidden or follow the toggle | Older help pages: ⌘-drag Vanilla’s dots to mark the hidden part of the bar | Visible, Hidden and Always Hidden sections, set in a layout editor or by ⌘-dragging | Visible, Hidden and Always Hidden sections, set by drag and drop | ⌘-drag icons to the left of its arrow (a separator before macOS 27); on macOS 27, app by app |
| Where hidden icons go | A glass panel under the chevron, in an automatic grid Pro Fixed grids, pages, icon sizes, a list | Off the bar; items that do not fit go behind an overflow indicator | Back in place, or the Bartender Bar, a second bar for hidden items | Back in place (Push Mode), or the Shelf, a panel below the menu bar | Back in place in the menu bar | Back in place, or the Thaw Bar below the menu bar: a row, a column or a grid | Back in place, or the Ice Bar below the menu bar | Back in place in the menu bar |
| How you open them | Click the chevron or press ⌃⌥⌘D; click an icon for its menu | Select the app again in Settings; press the overflow indicator for what did not fit | Swipe, scroll, click or hover; the Bartender Bar also by hotkey, even at the pointer | Click Tuck or press ⌘⇧B | Older help pages: click Vanilla’s arrows | Hover, click, scroll, swipe or a hotkey | Hover, click empty bar space, scroll or swipe | Click the arrow, or a shortcut |
| Real icons or app icons | Real icons with Screen Recording (optional); app icons without | Not stated | Real item images with Screen Recording (optional); app icons without | The real images with Screen Recording; app icons without | Older help pages: the real icons, in place | Live captures with Screen Recording; app icons without, in the 2.1 and Thaw 3 pre-releases | Not stated; a limited mode works without Screen Recording | The real icons, in place |
| Search | Type to jump to the first match Pro Type to filter | Not stated | Quick Search and the Command Bar | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, with a hotkey | Yes, with a hotkey | Not stated |
| Order | Alphabetical or menu bar order Pro Your own order | ⌘-drag icons in the bar | Reorder and space items; the order can hold across restarts | A custom order in the Shelf, with Pro | Not stated | Layout editor and spacing per display | Drag-and-drop layout | ⌘-drag icons yourself |
| Keyboard | ⌃⌥⌘D opens the panel; ⌃⌥⌘H shows every icon Pro Your own panel shortcut | Control-F8 moves focus to the status menus; none listed for hidden icons | Custom hotkeys, including the Command Bar and the Bartender Bar | ⌘⇧B; custom shortcuts not stated | A toggle shortcut, with Pro | Hotkeys for sections, search, the Thaw Bar and profiles | Hotkeys for sections, search and the Ice Bar | One expand and collapse shortcut |
| Automatic rules | New apps can go straight to the panel; optionally, hiding pauses while the mic or a camera is on | Only for some of Apple’s own controls | Automation on battery, Wi-Fi, mic, location, time, a schedule or a script | With Pro: auto-hide, hover reveal and per-app rules | With Pro: hides again after a delay you set | Hides again automatically; profiles switch by display or Focus; item triggers in pre-release | Hides again automatically | Collapses again after a delay |
| The notch | The chevron starts beside the system’s items; if the notch covers it, ⌃⌥⌘D opens the panel at the pointer | Items that do not fit go behind the overflow indicator | Hides what the notch would cover; a click or hotkey brings it back | Suggests the Shelf during setup on macOS 27 | Works on notched Macs; moving icons out from behind the notch is not stated | Moves items the notch would hide into the Thaw Bar | The Ice Bar shows hidden items below the notch | Not stated |
| Show all hidden icons | ⌃⌥⌘H puts every icon back in the menu bar; so do quitting and a crash | None documented; select each app again | Swipe, scroll, click or hover in the menu bar | A second click in Push Mode shows everything | Toggle them; Completely Removed icons show only in its settings | Hover, click, scroll or swipe for the Hidden section; a hotkey per section | Hover, click, scroll or swipe for the Hidden section; a hotkey per section | Click its arrow; ⌥-click it for the always-hidden area |
| Beyond hiding | Nothing else; hiding is its one job | Control Center controls in the menu bar; background and glass tint | Menu bar styles, widgets, profiles; Top Shelf with Bartender Pro or Mega Supporter | With Pro: Shelf colors and grayscale icons | Hides desktop icons too | Menu bar tint, shapes and glass; profiles | Menu bar tint, shadow, border and shapes | Not stated |
Price, license, requirements
What each costs, what it needs and where it comes from. Other apps’ prices are their makers’ own, in US dollars, as published; Drop Down’s are the ones in its pricing section.
The table scrolls inside its frame, sideways and down; the app names and the features stay in view.
| Feature | Drop Down Free, with Pro | macOS 27 Built in | Bartender 7 Paid | Tuck Free, with Pro | Vanilla Free, with Pro | Thaw Free, open source | Ice Free, open source | Hidden Bar Free, open source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Basic free Pro $3.99 once during Early Access ($6.99 from 1.0) Supporter $19.99 once | Built into macOS | $24.99 once Bartender Pro $19.99 a year Mega Supporter, paid once, includes Pro | Free Pro $14.99 once | Free Pro $10 once | Free | Free | Free |
| Try it first | Basic is free with no time limit and no account | Built in | A free trial, four weeks for new users; Pro has its own 14-day trial | Free tier with no time limit; 30-day money-back guarantee on Pro | Free version; 30-day money-back guarantee on Pro | Free | Free | Free |
| Subscription | No | None; part of macOS | Bartender Pro only, yearly | No | No | No | No | No |
| Macs | Pro: up to 3 Macs; Supporter: up to 6 | Any Mac that runs macOS 27 | All your Macs | Pro: up to 3 Macs | Pro: up to 10 activations | Any (free) | Any (free) | Any (free) |
| Requires | Apple silicon, macOS 27 or later; runs from the Applications folder | A Mac with Apple silicon | macOS 27; Bartender 6 for Tahoe and Sequoia | macOS 14 or later | Not stated for Vanilla 3; 2.1 needed macOS 12 | macOS 26 or later; Thaw 3 needs macOS 27 | macOS 14 or later | macOS 13 or later |
| macOS 27 | Yes, built for it | Yes | Yes, built for it | Yes | Yes, Vanilla 3 | In pre-release (Thaw 3) | Not stated; a contributor’s fix is unmerged | The direct download, v1.11.1; not the App Store build |
| macOS 26 Tahoe | No | The same settings, without the overflow indicator | Bartender 6, same license | Yes | Vanilla 2.2 | Yes, the stable release | In pre-release only | Yes, macOS 13 or later |
| Get it from | This site; updates through Sparkle | Software Update | Its own site; Setapp (version not stated) | Its own site, or Homebrew | Its own site | GitHub, or Homebrew | GitHub, or Homebrew | GitHub or Homebrew; an older build on the App Store |
| Open source | No | Some components | No source published | No | Not stated | Yes, GPL-3.0 | Yes, GPL-3.0 | Yes, MIT |
| Account | None; Pro takes a license key | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated; Pro’s license is checked online | None mentioned; Pro takes an activation code | None | Not stated | Not stated |
| Telemetry | None; goes online for updates and, with a key, license checks; the update server counts checks | Mac Analytics, only with your consent | No general statement; screen captures stay on the Mac | None; goes online for license and update checks | Older help pages: goes online only for updates and Pro codes | None | Not stated | Not stated; App Store label: Data Not Collected |
| Latest release | 0.9.1 (Oct 1, 2026) | 27.0.1 | 7.0.4 | 1.1.4 (Sep 30, 2026) | Vanilla 3 | 2.0.1 (Sep 2, 2026) | 0.11.12 (Oct 29, 2024) | v1.11.1 (Sep 18, 2026) |
About each app
macOS 27
Built in · by Apple
Already on your Mac, with nothing to install. It removes icons rather than keeping them close: an app you deselect is gone from the menu bar until you select it again, and the overflow indicator collects what does not fit, not what you choose. If you want fewer icons and rarely need the rest, it may be all you need.
Bartender 7
Paid · by Applause Group
Does much more than hide icons: automation, profiles, widgets, menu bar styling and keyboard control are all in the released app. Bartender 7 is built for macOS 27, and the same license covers Bartender 6 for Tahoe and Sequoia. It is paid once, with Bartender Pro as an optional yearly subscription; Mega Supporter includes Pro for a one-time price.
Tuck
Free, with Pro · by Quartz
Like Drop Down, it has a free tier, a one-time Pro, a panel for hidden icons and no telemetry. It also runs on macOS 14, 15 and 26, which Drop Down does not, and its Pro has per-app rules, which Drop Down does not.
Vanilla
Free, with Pro · by Matthew Palmer
Minimal, with release notes that go back to macOS Catalina, and it hides desktop icons too. Hidden icons come back into the menu bar rather than into a panel. Its help pages do not say which version they describe (they name macOS Catalina to Monterey), so the cells taken from them say “Older help pages”; the notes for Vanilla 3 do not say whether it needs a new Pro purchase.
Thaw
Free, open source · by thaw-app
Free and open source, under active development, with a long feature list and a grid layout for its Thaw Bar. On macOS 27 it is a pre-release, and some features its README lists are not in the stable release yet.
Ice
Free, open source · by Jordan Baird
Free and open source, with the Ice Bar, search and menu bar styling. Its last stable release dates from October 2024, Tahoe support exists as a pre-release, and its maker has published no release for macOS 27; a contributor’s change for it is an open pull request.
Hidden Bar
Free, open source · by Dwarves Foundation
Free and open source, and updated in 2026: v1.11.1 brought hiding back on macOS 27. It does one thing, in place: the icons slide back into the menu bar when you click its arrow.
Also checked
Four more we read, without a column:
- Pelmet: free and open source (GPL-3.0) and made for macOS 27 only; hidden icons come back in place, with Visible, Hidden and Always Hidden sections, a layout editor, and stand-in items for Apple features that disappear while icons are hidden.
- Lounge: a yearly subscription with a free trial; a panel that opens near the notch shows hidden and visible icons beside a clipboard history. Its changelog lists macOS 27 support since 1.1.4. It collects anonymous usage statistics, which its settings can turn off.
- Barbee: on the Mac App Store, free with in-app purchases; it hides and groups icons, with automation, shortcuts and spacing. Its release notes do not name macOS 27; version 5.0 mentions compatibility with the latest macOS.
- SaneBar: free and MIT-licensed since mid-2026 and now described as community-maintained; its maker’s own announcement says macOS 27’s rebuilt menu bar breaks it, and it has no macOS 27 release.
Questions
Is Drop Down an alternative to Bartender?
For hiding icons on macOS 27, yes. Both keep the icons you hide a click away: Bartender back in the menu bar or in its Bartender Bar, Drop Down in a glass panel under one chevron. Bartender does much more besides: automation on battery, Wi-Fi or a schedule, profiles, menu bar styles and widgets, and Top Shelf with Bartender Pro. Drop Down does one job, and Basic does it for free. Run one manager at a time: Drop Down recognises Bartender and pauses its own hiding while Bartender runs.
Can I run Drop Down beside another menu bar manager?
Not at the same time. When two managers hide icons, macOS combines what each of them leaves visible, so they undo each other. Of the apps on this page, Drop Down recognises Bartender, Thaw, Ice, Hidden Bar and Barbee: while one of them runs, it pauses its own hiding, tells you which app it is, and picks up again when you quit that app. The others here (Tuck, Vanilla, Pelmet, Lounge and SaneBar) are not on its list, so quit those yourself before you hide icons with Drop Down.
What does macOS 27 do on its own?
In System Settings › Menu Bar you choose, app by app, which apps may show an item in the menu bar. One you deselect leaves the bar, and comes back only when you select it again. When the bar runs out of room, macOS 27 hides what does not fit behind a small overflow indicator; Apple does not say you can choose which icons go there. Apple documents no panel, search or keyboard shortcut for hidden icons.
Does Drop Down need a subscription?
No. Basic is free, with no time limit and no account. Pro is a one-time purchase, updates included: $3.99 during Early Access, $6.99 from 1.0, and Pro bought during Early Access stays Pro at 1.0 and after. The pricing section has the details. Bartender 7 itself is paid once, and Bartender Pro is sold by the year or included in the one-time Mega Supporter; of the four more we read, Lounge is a yearly subscription and Barbee offers a yearly plan or a one-time purchase.
What if I used Ice or Hidden Bar before macOS 27?
Ice’s maker has published no release for macOS 27: the last stable release is from October 2024, and a contributor’s change to bring hiding back on macOS 27 is an open pull request. Hidden Bar’s direct download, v1.11.1, hides icons on macOS 27, app by app; its older App Store build does not. Thaw, a free and open-source manager, supports macOS 27 in its Thaw 3 pre-releases. Drop Down is made for macOS 27 only.
Sources
Each column, the pages it was read from on .
macOS 27
- support.apple.com/
guide/ mac-help/ change-menu-bar-settings-mchlad96d366/ 27/ mac/ 27 - support.apple.com/
en-us/ 148830 - support.apple.com/
guide/ mac-help/ whats-in-the-menu-bar-mchlp1446/ 27/ mac/ 27 - support.apple.com/
en-us/ 102650 - support.apple.com/
guide/ mac-help/ customize-the-menu-bar-mchl4af84660/ 27/ mac/ 27 - support.apple.com/
guide/ mac-help/ change-appearance-settings-mchlp1225/ 27/ mac/ 27 - support.apple.com/
en-us/ 127455 - support.apple.com/
en-us/ 127257 - support.apple.com/
guide/ mac-help/ change-menu-bar-settings-mchlad96d366/ 26/ mac/ 26 - apple.com/
legal/ sla/ docs/ macOS27.pdf - support.apple.com/
guide/ mac-help/ share-analytics-information-mac-apple-mh27990/ 27/ mac/ 27
- support.apple.com/
Bartender 7
Tuck
Vanilla
Thaw
Ice
Pelmet
Lounge
Barbee
SaneBar
Names are their owners’ trademarks; Drop Down is not affiliated with any of these apps or their makers. Spotted something out of date? Write to hello@getdropdown.app with a link to the maker’s page, and it is corrected.
Try it on your own menu bar.
No account needed. Requires a Mac with Apple silicon and macOS 27 or later.